Skip to content

You are here: Home

Login Form

Lost Password?
No account yet? Register


Visitors Counter

DILG-10 awards cleanest LGUs, active lupons and service-oriented LCEs PDF Print E-mail

The Department of the Interior and Local Government Region 10 presented the regional winners of the CY 2008 Gawad Pangulo sa Kapaligiran (GPK) and the Lupong Tagapamayapa Incentive Award (LTIA) last December 17, 2008 at SM Atrium, Cagayan de Oro City. Some Local Chief Executives were also present to be recognized as regional awardees of the Community Service Award.

The province of Bukidnon was the big winner for the GPK under the cleanest province category. For the component cities category, Gingoog City was adjudged as the winner. Other awardees were Pangantucan, Bukidnon (1st-3rd class municipalities), Naawan, Misamis Oriental (4th-6th class municipalities), Lake Pinamaloy of Don Carlos, Bukidnon (lake, in land body of water category), and Silo-o river of Malitbog, Bukidnon (river, in land body of water category).

GPK is a national award which primary intention is to help inculcate in the minds of the Filipinos, the values of discipline, self-reliance, resourcefulness, cooperation, cleanliness and environmental awareness, and at the same time, to help transform rural and urban areas all over the country into clean and green communities that are healthy and pleasant to live in. 

On the other hand, LTIA recognizes outstanding lupon members who demonstrate exemplary performance in settling disputes at the grassroots level. Regional awardees received their respective awards, namely barangay Gusa of Cagayan de Oro City won under Highly Urbanized City category, barangay Violeta of Malaybalay City under Component City category, barangay Poblacion of Impasugong, Bukidnon under the 1st-3rd class municipalities category, and barangay Liboran of Baungon, Bukidnon under 4th-6th class municipalities category. LGUs winning as second runner-ups also received their awards, and these were: barangay Tubod of Iligan City (HUC), barangay Poblacion of El Salvador City (Component City), barangay Binitinan of Balingasag, Misamis Oriental (1st-3rd class municipalities), and barangay Poblacion of Lugait, Misamis Oriental (4th-6th class municipalities).

This awarding is done annually by the Department and is even institutionalized by some provinces in region 10.

DILG-10 Regional Director Quirino M. Libunao said that these awards are essentially given to recognize the efforts of our local leaders in preserving our environment, and in aiding our country’s judicial system through the amicable settlements to certain classes of disputes provided in the local level. In his speech during the program he said that the progress in any locality will depend much on the people living and serving in the community.

Provincial Governor Oscar Moreno as one of the honorary guest, expressed his happiness to these awards program of DILG as it show what local autonomy can do to the LGUs. “After 20 years, we can now see LGUs progressing on their own and not rely on national government,” the Governor said.

Moreno stressed the need for support and cooperation of everyone. He said that the progress of region 10 springs from the collective growth of the five provinces and 9 cities of the region. Further, he urged everyone to sustain this growth in the region.

Adding to this momentous occasion was the awarding of Community Service Award bestowed to outstanding governors and mayors in the region. The nominees were evaluated by the Regional Screening and Evaluation Committee, composed of the Regional Directors of DILG, National Police Commission (NAPOLCOM) and Philippine National Police (PNP). Winners were chosen through their demonstration of exemplary courage, selflessness and heroism in the service of community, nation and humanity.

Local chief executives that were given recognitions were Governor Loreto Leo S. Ocampos of Misamis Occidental, Governor Mohamad Khalid Q. Dimaporo, Mayor Reynaldo O. Parojinog, Sr. of Ozamiz City, and Mayor Lawrence Ll. Cruz of Iligan City, and Mayor Jennifer W. Tan of Tangub City. The rest of the awardees are Mayor David M. Navarro of Clarin, Misamis Occidental; Mayor Noel N. Deaño of Linamon, Lanao del Norte and Mayor Bertrand M. Lumaque of Kolambugan, Lanao del Norte.

Trophies and plaques were accorded to all the winners that afternoon. ###
< Prev   Next >